OUR CORE VALUES

Sustainability

All of our meals are fresh and homemade. Most of our dishes include plant based ingredients. We try to minimalise food surpluses and work with recovery materials for the interior decoration. We try to work local and seasonal where possible.
 

Aesthetics

We love everything that is neat and tidy. Whether it concerns an interior, a cocktail, a dish or a Christmas card, we always try to generate a positive feeling in the customer through the appearance of our creations.

Good Food

We love all kinds of tasty and quality food and want to share that passion with our customers.

Social

As a bar in the heart of Brussels, we like to help the neighborhood and work together with local initiatives.

In Café De Markten you can make someone else happy with a delayed coffee. You order and pay for a delayed coffee and we give it to someone who really needs it. This way, you can also contribute something to the neighborhood!

Our fresh and seasonal ingredients come from nearby city gardens and are delivered with a cargo bike. The gardens are maintained by Atelier Groot Eiland vzw, an organization in the social economy.

URBAN OASIS AT THE HEART OF BRUSSELS

De Markten is a Flemish community centre at the heart of Brussels. The accompanying café is located on the Oude Graanmarkt, a car-free square with cosy terraces beneath the plane trees. Parents can relax here for a bit while their children have fun in the outdoor playground. The impressive facade of the building dates back to the beginning of the twentieth century, when Val Saint-Lambert wanted a storage space and sales point in Brussels. The building itself was completed in the nineteenth century. The café was thoroughly renovated in 2017. The vintage furniture, mirror walls and arsenal of plants, among things, create a fun and cosy atmosphere.

Café De Markten is an ideal place to meet people for a chat, have some food together, work or read a book.

DSC_0216.jpg
!
Widget Didn’t Load
Check your internet and refresh this page.
If that doesn’t work, contact us.

NOS VALEURS FONDAMENTALES

Durabilité

Toute notre nourriture est fraîche et faite maison.
la plupart de nos plats ne contiennent que des produits végétaux. Nous minimisons les surplus alimentaires et travaillons avec des matériaux recyclés pour la décoration intérieure. Nous travaillons localement et de façon saisonnière lorsque cela est possible.

Esthétique

Nous aimons tout ce qui est beau et soigné. Qu'il s'agisse d'un intérieur, d'un cocktail, d'un plat ou d'une carte de Noël, nous essayons toujours de générer un sentiment positif chez le client à travers l'apparence de nos créations.

Bonne nourriture

Nous aimons tous les types de plats savoureux et de qualité et souhaitons partager cette passion avec nos clients.

Social

En tant que café au coeur de Bruxelles, nous aimons nos consacrer au quartier et travailler avec des initiatives locales.

Au Café De Markten, vous pouvez faire plaisir à quelqu'un d'autre avec un café suspendu. Vous commandez et payez un café suspendu et nous le donnons à quelqu'un qui en a vraiment besoin.

Nos produits frais et de saison proviennent des jardins potager dans la ville et sont livrés à vélo. Les jardins sont entretenus par Atelier Groot Eiland vzw, une organisation d'economie sociale.

UNE OASIS AU CŒUR DE BRUXELLES

De Markten est un centre communautaire néerlandophone au cœur de Bruxelles. Le café avoisinant se trouve au Vieux Marché aux Grains, une place interdite à la circulation automobile avec des terrasses conviviales sous les platanes. Les parents peuvent s’y détendre, pendant que leurs enfants s’en donnent à cœur joie dans l’aire de jeux extérieure. La façade impressionnante date du début du vingtième siècle, lorsque Val Saint-Lambert voulait un lieu de stockage et un point de vente. L’immeuble date d’environ mille huit-cents cinquante. En 2017, le café a été entièrement rénové. Des meubles vintage, des miroirs aux murs et toute une gamme de plantes offrent entre autres une ambiance amusante et agréable.

Le Café De Markten est le lieu idéal par excellence pour rencontrer des gens, faire un brin de causette, manger ensemble, travailler ou lire un livre.

DSC_0216.jpg